Summer Shakespeare in the Park returns with “Henry V”

May 29, 2019 | In Events

Penfold Theatre Company presents “Henry V” free-of-charge from 8 to 10 p.m., Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings May 30-June 22 and Sunday, June 23.

The production will take place at the Centennial Plaza amphitheater in Downtown Round Rock.

Henry V marks the ninth installment in the company’s “Penfold in the Park” series, an annual offering of free, outdoor summer theatre, made possible by a partnership with the City of Round Rock Parks & Recreation Department.

The play is an action-packed war story that depicts the making of a legend. Henry IV is dead, and Prince Hal is crowned King Henry V of England. With the nation in a state of unrest, Henry must leave his rebellious youth behind and strive to gain the respect of his nobles and citizens. Spurred by claim to parts of France and an egregious insult from the French Dauphin, Henry gathers his troops and prepares for a war that he hopes will unite his country. The campaign takes him deep into the heart of enemy territory, where, his numbers and supplies dwindling, Henry and his ragged band of brothers face impossible odds on the fields of Agincourt.

Henry V is recommended for middle-school-age kids and up. Guests may bring picnic blankets or lawn chairs to sit on. Food, drinks and pets are also permitted. However, for safety reasons, please do not bring glass bottles or containers.

Showtimes:

  • Thu May 30, 2019 | 8:00 p.m.
  • Fri May 31, 2019 | 8:00 p.m.
  • Sat June 1, 2019 | 8:00 p.m.
  • Thu June 6, 2019 | 8:00 p.m.
  • Fri June 7, 2019 | 8:00 p.m.
  • Sat June 8, 2019 | 8:00 p.m.
  • Thu June 13, 2019 | 8:00 p.m.
  • Fri June 14, 2019 | 8:00 p.m.
  • Sat June 15, 2019 | 8:00 p.m.
  • Thu June 20, 2019 | 8:00 p.m.
  • Fri June 21, 2019 | 8:00 p.m.
  • Sat June 22, 2019 | 8:00 p.m.
  • Sun June 23 2019 | 8:00 p.m.

ABOUT PENFOLD THEATRE COMPANY

Penfold Theatre Company’s mission is to empower artists to create work of the highest caliber and to engage diverse audiences through stories that inspire and impact our community.

Menu